Disconnected

Standard

In this fast-paced, technological society, it’s almost incomprehensible to be without devices that connect us to the world. If we are, it seems as though we are so isolated and it’s extremely uncomfortable…recent studies have shown that cell phone seperation anxiety has the same effects as someone going through drug withdrawls (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1344723/How-suffer-withdrawal-symptoms-like-drug-addicts-kept-away-tech-gadgets.html) Why am I telling you all this super depressing information? I will tell you, of course…

Picture it: yesterday, August 29th, 2011…approximately 1:30pm in Bolivar, Missouri. I was sitting at my desk, in my room, skyping overseas. I remember texting a friend at 1:38pm. My roommate comes in the apartment around 2:15pm. We leave the apartment around 2:30pm. As we walked into Walmart, I reached into my purse for my phone and realized it wasn’t there. Without thinking, I assumed it was still in my apartment on my desk. We arrived back home around 3:30pm and my phone was nowhere to be found. I searched EVERYWHERE! I literally took everything out of my closet, desk, and basically tore my room apart and put it back together (it’s really clean now) but the phone is still MIA. We all searched the apartment, cars, outside, I creeped Walmart parking lot…nothing. I called it and it rang the first couple times and then it started to go straight to voice mail. I tried to remember exactly what I did and it’s as though I blacked out that block of time. I literally cannot remember anything I did in that 45 minute time frame.

Needless to say I was a bit stressed out. I have lost my phone before but I’ve always been able to find it. I began feeling anxious and sick to my stomach. I couldn’t sit still and my mind was racing. I couldn’t even eat the yummy meatloaf, mashed potatoes, and green beans I made for dinner. In class today, I kept tapping my desk because my hands wouldn’t stop moving…I had always laughed at the people who said our generation was too attached to technology and the research about the drug withdrawal symptoms but now I am a firm believer it it all now that I have been through it!  Thankfully, I was able to get my replacement phone overnighted to me so I was only without a phone for a little over 24 hours and some of that I had text on my ipod, even though it was really patchy.

Moral of the story, I did learn a lot from losing my phone and being disconnected for the world. I had time to think…a lot. I no longer feel the need to be constantly checking my phone and I think that everyone should take my advice and disconnect yourself every now and then. I heard a great speaker in chapel yesterday who was talking about how we are never still enough to hear God. I feel that me losing my phone was God telling me that I need to just chill. We all need to. Turn off your music, log out of facebook, and put down your cell phone for a bit every day. You will survive and the rewards are much greater than the feeling of being connected because a connection to God is always greater than the feeling of being disconnected from this tiny world that He made in this massive, and inconceivable universe!

Psalms 46:10 – “He says, ‘Be still, and know that I am God;  I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.’”

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

