What If You’re Allergic to Grass?

Standard

There’s no argument…men and women have completely different views on the world. If you do argue with this, then you are obviously such an optimist that you can’t see the disagreement (no judgement intended). I’m not saying it’s a bad thing. If we all agreed, this world would be quite boring. This difference, however, is spiraling out of control with every passing day. How is this possible? Before I get into that, let me explain the two perspectives and how I came about this topic.

This may become a normal occurrence…I was inspired to write this by what I heard in chapel today. WAIT!!! Before you stop reading and tune me out, please just hear me out. I also began this particular chapel service with the mindset of, “This is gonna be sooooooo boring!” I, however, was proven completely incorrect. Something I have been struggling with lately is all of my relationships (friends, parents, etc.) and how to bridge the gap in our disagreements. Well, as I sat listening to the speaker, it was as though God was speaking directly to me through this message. Now that I somewhat understand where the disconnection is between the two sexes, I can better understand our disagreements and quarrels. What was it? It began with the introduction of our Ultimate Questions in life. Intrigued? I was. I was certain that nobody could possibly know what I question about myself every day. I, of course, was wrong. Listen up. Men, your Ultimate Question in life is, “Am I Enough?” You all worry about being enough on the outside; being cool or highly thought of. Women, this is why they do stupid things and “show off”…again, no judgement intended. They have a need to feel as though they are the best they can be and so they look for praise. Yet, on the other hand, Women, your Ultimate Question in life is, “Am I Beautiful?” No, not on the outside. This question, unlike the men’s, is internalized. We need acceptance and comfort which is why we worry so much about what other people think.

Now that you have floating around your brain and trying to fit into your scheme about this topic, I will explain how it is spiraling out of control. We are constantly surrounded by unrealistic and overrated images, movies, and ideals that just add pressure to these questions. Men think they need to become superheroes before they are enough…and even then they would probably want to be more. Women, we see supermodels and go to great lengths to become like them, hoping that will get people’s attention and then they will want to get to know us and the accept and love us. WHOA!!! Hold the phone…say what?!? We are constantly measuring ourselves to others…wishing, hoping, longing for more than what God has already blessed us with. This, in turn, is passed on to our children and thus intensified because we, ourselves, are struggling to answer this question and then trying to help them too. The blind leading the blind.

The answer…Jesus, of course. Only He can answer these questions and complete us. If we are not right with Him, all of our relationships will always be strained. It basically will go like this: Man-“I’ll tell you you’re beautiful if you tell me I’m enough.” or some other derivative of this. Really?!? No. This is just so wrong. If you cannot accept yourself for how God made you and the glorious miracle that you are, then you will never be truly happy.

To conclude this ramble…because I can go on for quite some time…we need to stop asking and wondering if the grass is greener on the other side. Tend to your own side. For all you know, you could be allergic to the grass on the other side, cross over, and then become a COMPLETE disaster. It happens, even to me. I have wondered if I will ever be enough for someone to love. Will I ever be pretty enough to be accepted. Will anyone ever love me for me and who I am and not how I look on the outside…and I have come to the realization that I have explained tonight. I am more than enough. I am a creation of God. Not only that, there is NOBODY else like me anywhere and there never will be. I do not care what other people think anymore, 99% of the time. I am human. I stumble….a lot. I know, however, that God loves me indefinitely and unconditionally. This brings me great comfort and it should bring you comfort also. He is like your favorite chair. Fall into Him and trust that He will hold you and comfort you. Where are the nachos, because I just brought out the cheese…good thing I’m not lactose intolerant…and I hope that you aren’t also 😉

Before I end, I want to leave you with this. 1 Timothy 6:6-11 ” But godliness with contentment is great gain. / For we brought nothing into the world, and we can take nothing out of it. / But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. / Those who want to get rich fall into temptation and a trap and into many foolish and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evil. Some people, eager for money, have wandered from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs. /  But you, man of God, flee from all this, and pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, endurance and gentleness.” Worry not about the grass on the other side, tend to your own. Be right with God. He loves you for who you are no matter what. I hope this made sense. I’m pretty sure I got off track but I believe I translated my point as well as I could.  🙂 God Bless and goodnight!

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

