Picking Petals

Standard

As I sit here at work staring at facebook and listining to Pandora, a lot of things come to mind. First, the drive home this morning was stunning. I absolutely LOVE early morning drives when it’s a clear blue sky and there’s nothing but back roads, morning dew on the green landscape of fields and trees, and some good old country music blaring on the radio. This is where my thoughts are most active and clear. Of course my thoughts usually drift toward what each song is about, and today was no exception to that.

I have heard countless people talk against country music. They say it’s “emo with a twang” or “all about beer and back roads”. These people were obviously not listening to the actual song. Country music is about real life instead of immoral actions and hate (although a few country songs are). What I have noticed, though, is the this. The men of country sing about how much they love or miss their love. Women, on the other hand, primarily sing about how awful thier exs or men in general are. This is quite contradictory in my opinion.

Why do we, as women, always focus on all the negative aspects of past and present relationships?  And men, why do you act as though you don’t care about women in person but sing about how much you care? My opinon? Well, of course I will share that!

Women gain a sense of power and control over the wrongs in their life from knowing they are not alone. I know I connect almost everything in my life to a song. Every moment, every memory, and every thought have a theme song. When I have gone through a bad time and I hear a song on the radio that depicts that almost verbatum, I relish it. I blast that song and belt out my frustrations while driving down the road. It’s like talking to your best friend and getting all the hurt out without having the long discussions or the “I understand” pat on the back. Women, we love to know that there are others who are struggling as much as we are in this crazy mixed up world, especially when it comes to relationships which is why Carrie Underwood’s song Songs Like This as well as I Know You Won’t (well almost any of her songs) strike a chord with all of us.

Men. Oh, men. I have a slight tendancy to think like a man sometimes (or so I’ve been told) due to the fact that the majority of my friends growing up were male and my dad was my best friend. Therefore, I have a faint idea of why you do the things you do. You all want to be macho. You want to be strong and unshakable yet on the inside you are a bunch of softies. At about this time, all of you are cursing me in your mind saying that you are not and never will be emotional. Well, I hate to say it, but you are. You can put on the strongest suit of armor and never smile but you are a pile of mush on the inside when it comes to that one person. I’ve seen it countless times. My guy friends come to me and ask my advice and I look at them as though they have two heads. You like that girl?  Is almost always my first thought only because they treat her so badly in person. This is the differentiation between the sexes. Guys, you want to be the sensitive guy but you don’t know how so you just fall back on your only knowledge, which is sarcasm and “guy talk”. Then you go home and spend a majority of your time wondering how to tell her how you feel without being wimpy or freaking her out, hence the mushy songs on the radio.

I think we can all learn one thing. Mean what you say and say what you mean. Psalm 119:160 – “The very essence of your words is truth; all your just regulations will stand forever.” Personally, I would rather be hated in honesty than loved in lies. It just amazes me that we wonder why this world has such issues when it comes to relationships but if you listen to the radio enough, you begin to understand why. Girls grew up picking petals off flowers under the monkey bars to decide of a guy likes her and boys grew up kicking dirt in the face of the girl they like on the playground. So you see, from the beginning we are all messed up (not saying that all our childhoods were like this, just a generalization).

I don’t know. Maybe I just listen to too much radio or have too much time to think, but that’s my opinion and I’m sticking to it until someone proves me wrong.

Luke 16:10 – “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

