Time to Breathe…

Standard

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about life and how mine has been. Before you go thinking anything let me just say that I know the past is the past and that you can’t change it. Not saying there is anything I would change now that I think about it…sure, there are things that I wish had happened differently or people and relationships that I wish had worked out better or to my advantage but that’s just it. It’s not about us. Everything I have gone through has made me who I am today and for that I would never change any of it. This past week, however, I had to write about my development from birth to age 18. It was quite honestly the most difficult assignment I have ever done. I have spent so much time trying to forget the past and just move on. I mean, who really hasn’t? Everyone has a past they are not proud of , just to different degrees. Mine, however, is one that I wish to never return to. Most people say that middle school was the worst time of their life. Actually, for me, that was the best time. High school was my nightmare. It actually still haunts me today and especially this past week.

I have learned a lot about it though just recently. They say people come and go and this is true. A lot of people went but just recently one came back and I am more than thankful for that person. If they are reading this, they should know who they are. Well, this person wasn’t the worst part of my high school days. Actually, they made most of them bearable, even though they never knew it. There were times, however, that I just wished they would go away. Then they actually did. Can’t say it was easy because it wasn’t. They have inspired so many of my songs and even though I have tried to forget all of my past, they are the one thing that I just can’t forget.

Whew…that was more than I planned to share but I’m glad I did because now you know where this came from. There are people in life that are worth fighting for and then there are those that seem like it but just drag you down. I have spent so much time focusing on which ones were which and missed a lot of the good ones. I worry about so much and how things will work out or what this or that meant. The thing is, though, all of that is a waste of time. We have no control over it. What we do or think is right for us usually isn’t. We must trust in God and His plan for our lives. That’s it. That’s my big epiphany. Lame? No…I don’t think so. I know a lot of you and especially I, worry about so many things that are so small compared to Him and His plan. Therefore, I am going to leave you with this verse. It has gotten me though a lot and I plan to get it as a tattoo someday so that I will never forget it because I often do…

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanks giving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:6-7

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

