Is there sand in your hair???

Standard

When was the last time you felt really truly thankful for the life that you have? Maybe this has never even crossed your mind or you never have felt this way. I know I can’t speak for you but as for me, I only think of it every now and then. Today is one of those days where I am just so very thankful for everything I have been given and all the hard times I have been through.

If you know me, you know that I am a very unattached person when it comes to human emotions. Sound heartless? Maybe, I have yet to determine that. Any-who, because of this, it is difficult for me to feel sadness for death, happiness for good things happening to others, or even anguish for loss. When it comes to consoling people, I just feel awkward and I start making jokes. It’s quite sad, really but it’s just the way God made me…Today, however, is quite unusual. I was reading a story about a hero saving lives and it told the detailed story of events. I have no idea why but I just started crying. Not the ugly cry, just a few tears. It just so happens that I was in the library computer lab when this happened so it was even more embarrassing for me. I was reading this story and as my eyes were taking in these terrifying events, I couldn’t help but think about how lucky I am. We, as Americans, are extremely lucky to have our troops who go above and beyond the call of duty just so we can remain free and safe.Think about that. That’s right, ponder what your life would be like if our troops weren’t constantly fighting and giving their lives for us. Depressing, right? Our way of life would be completely upside down and turned around.

While I was tearing up at this thought, it also struck me that even though I have been though struggles and pain, I have always come out a better person. Every trial that God has put me through was not to hurt me, but to build me up and strengthen me. I know it’s difficult to think this way when we are actually going through the pain but it’s true. If God brings you to it, he will bring you through it. Once again, we may need some nachos because I am brining the cheese but it’s good cheese. 😀

So here is my challenge to you. Stop living life day to day. Stop worrying about how things will turn out and definitely stop being self absorbed (this I struggle with a lot) and think about others. If your life seems awful, there is always someone who is worse off. If you feel as though your world is crashing around you, there is a soldier who is far from home and in constant battle to keep you free. We all need to stop taking life for granted and live to glorify God who has given us everything we have when the only thing we deserve is death. Get your head out of the sand that is your life and look around you because an ostrich with its head in the sand is just as blind to opportunity as to disaster. Let’s all strive to be thankful in everything. It isn’t easy, I know this but if you never try then you have already failed.

1 Thessalonians 5:18  

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

 

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

