Mirror Mirror On the Wall…

Standard

Thanksgiving. Yes, that’s right…I just followed the crowd. It has been a rather long time since I have posted and I have many good reasons, all of which I will spare you the details for fear of boring you. Anyway…once again the holiday season is upon us. Many, including me, stuffed ourselves of turkey and other wonderful foods and then proceeded to shop (or fight) for bargains under the influence (of tryptophan). In light of these black Friday…or now it’s more like gray Thursday…deals, I got to thinking. Yes, waiting in those excruciatingly long lines or grappling for a bargain printer did have some positive impact. I don’t know, it could have very well been the influence of a full stomach though.What was I thinking about? Well, that…is a dangerous question. Lots of things, of course, but only a few really important thoughts came to mind.

First, and probably the least relevant to any of you, is that being short actually pays off on this day. Think about it, I can squeeze under and between people in crowds, grab from the bottom of the pile/stack where most people can’t reach, and dart away again under and around crowds. Yes, I am that awesome (or not). But this piece of information is probably as worthless to you as a cd is in the 18th century.

Moving on, while standing (well, leaning) against a stack of printers wrapped in plastic, waiting for the clock to strike midnight (quite opposite of Cinderella), my mind wandered to this…what are our motivations for everything we do. For those crowded into this particular Walmart, the reasons were numerous and could have ranged from boredom to insomnia or even just wanting to get that one gift your child had been wanting and deserved after everything they had been though that year. But these are minute compared to what my mind was thinking. We, as humans, are selfish creatures. We desire for everything to go according to our plans and if something goes wrong, we throw a fit. This is especially evident in Americans. Go ahead, roll your eyes. You know I’m right. When was the last time you ever did anything that you didn’t get anything out of it for yourself? Difficult to think of, right? Me too.

If you really think about it, it’s almost impossible to do any “good” deed without being selfish in it. Even when you give money to charity, you want recognition for it or feel you need to be praised for doing so.

So the answer to “what are our motivations?” is quite clear, for the most part…pride and self recognition. This is just awful when you think of it. I have recently been encountered with several circumstances where, through others, I was shown how horrid of a person I really am. Not in an unmoral nature, but more of a selfish one (like all humans). My motivations are usually egocentric and I rarely think of how my actions will effect others until after the fact. I have a semi unnatural disconnect from emotion and human feeling in general but as of late I have been hyper desensitized and for that I am most grievous.

Where am I going with this? Well, on Thanksgiving, we are to give thanks to the things we have in life. This year, I am most thankful for all the blessings that I have not deserved but God has still given me and for all the people He has put in my life to show me the real me. I am also thankful for all the trials and tribulations I have been through and will go through that make me stronger in my faith and in general.

Lastly,  I just want to challenge you (you should have seen that coming) but first, here are a few bible verses about the topic above…

Matthew 5:5 – “Blessed are the meek (gentle – NKJV), for they shall inherit the earth. Jesus declares a “blessing” (happiness) on those who are meek.”

Galatians 5:22,23 – “Meekness is one of the fruits of the Spirit – qualities that we must possess if we are led by the Spirit.”

Proverbs 16:18,19 – “Pride goes before destruction and a haughty spirit before a fall. It is better to be of a humble spirit with the lowly.”

If we seek to be happy, to be led by the Spirit, to avoid destruction, and to be like great people such as Moses and Jesus, we need to possess meekness and humility. These words, though often heard, are more often unknown for certain so here they are, explianed…

Meekness – 

This is an extremely difficult word to translate into English, because we think “meek” implies weakness. Sometimes it is translated (NKJV) “gentleness,” but that also implies weakness. The best way to know the meaning of a word is to study passages where it is used. As we do, we will see meekness is an attitude or quality of heart [1 Peter 3:4] whereby a person willingly accepts and submits without resistance to the will and desires of someone else. The meek person is not self-willed – not continually concerned with self, his own ways, ideas, and wishes. He is willing to put himself in second place and submit himself to achieve what is good for others. Meekness is the opposite of self-will, self-interest, and self-assertiveness. This is a sign, not of weakness of character (as some think), but of strength. It requires great self-control to submit to others.

Humility – 

This is an attitude or quality of mind [Acts 20:19] whereby a person holds low esteem or opinion of his own goodness and importance. Spiritually, one abases himself because he realizes his sinfulness and therefore he is willing to depend on God to meet His needs. It is the opposite of pride, haughtiness, and self-exaltation.

I’m sure I’ve gotten off track, like always, but then again it is 5am and I have been up for about 21 hours. Moral of the story, we as humans are in love with ourselves when we should be in love with God and His kingdom. When you look in the mirror (I mean REALLY look in the mirror), what do you see? We need to think less of ourselves and more about others. Give thanks to God. And most of all, HUG!!! After all, a hug is a handshake from the heart.

God Bless 🙂

About somewhatexcitingadventures

I am a relatively outgoing person and I love to have fun and joke around. I am in love with Jesus and I live my life for Him. Math is my heart and I am blessed to be able to share it with students every day. I am a country girl through and through. I love anything that has to do with the outdoors. My favorites are fishing, hunting, target shooting, and hiking. I also love music. It's definitely the fastest way to my heart! I play guitar and write my own songs. I also love working on cars and watching sports. As for career aspirations, I love teaching and one day hope to be in administration. Kids are the future and we are responsible for making sure they are prepared to lead us!

Leave a Reply

